His Hands

March 31, 2014, 11:02 a.m.

Family and friendssss,

How are you all?! I want to hear from you all, so write me. En serio. Mom, could you post my addresses here in my blog? That would be wonderful.  [For anyone who would like to write her, her email and MTC addresses are listed under the “Home” tab at the top under “Write to Hermana M.]

The CCM is wonderful! So much has happened in the last week but it feels like only a day so I don’t even know what to share with you! Things have been hard this week, for sure. Every day feels like an emotinal roller coaster (because you’re awake so long it’s not hard to feel 2,347,895 different emotions throughout the day… and probably also because I’m a girl. And emotions are something we seem to have a lot of…) But en serio, many times it was hard to stay positive this week! It is hard to push yourself every second of every day so that you can have the power of the spirit with you when you witness to these people that your message is true. But I have also seen this week how real the power of the spirit is, and how real the Lord’s promise is of the spirit when we are worthy to have it. THE MISSION WITHOUT THE SPIRIT IS HARD. Exact obedience is one thing we are working hard at so we can teach with the Spirit.

Our teacher situation has changed a little and we now have two night teachers as opposed to just Hermano Hernandez! But they are both great. We have been studying hard and learning more and more about our purpose here as missionaries. Let me just say that I feel so honored to be a representative of my Savior, Jesus Christ. As a missionary, we are literally his hands, his mouth, his arms, his ears. We taught our last lesson with Daniel on Wednesday and Hermana Howard and I cried and prayed for so long after we said goodbye because of the spirit we felt as we were able to witness the joy that the gospel of Jesus Christ brings into the life of Heavenly Father’s children. I have been feeling so strongly this week the truth of the saying “where much is given, much is required.” I AM SO INCREDIBLY BLESSED, IT’S UNREAL. With the knowledge that I have been given and the spirit I have felt, I feel not only a desire but a responsibilty to share the happiness of the gospel with other people! One of the hermanas in our district shared the account of Alma speaking to his son Helaman about his conversion in one of her and her companion’s lessons on Sunday, and I love it so much I want to share it with you! When he realizes that there IS a way he can be relieved of his guilt and pain, he says this in Alma 36:19-21:

19 And now, behold, when I thought this, I could remember my pains no more; yea, I was harrowed up by the memory of my sins no more. 20 And oh, what joy, and what marvelous light I did behold; yea my soul was filled with joy as exceeding as was my pain! 21 Yea, I say unto you, my son, that there could be nothing so exquisite and so bitter as were my pains. Yea, and again I say unto you, my son, that on the other hand, there can be nothing so exquisite and sweet as was my joy.

He continues in 24, saying:

24 Yea, and from that time even until now, I have labored without ceasing, that I might bring them to taste of the exceeding joy of which I did taste; that they might also be born of God, and be filled with the Holy Ghost.

I love that last scripture because that is the reason I am here. I came out here to serve the people of Guatemala because I have experienced the power of the Atonement and the exceeding joy that we can experience because our Heavenly Father loves us, and because he gave us the Savior. I know that the love of God is more powerful than anything Satan can offer us. I love my Savior and I love my Father in Heaven with all of my heart!

I also have been thinking about the opposite statement of the one I mentioned earlier… “Where much is required, much is also given.” I know that sometimes it seems far too much to continue faithful when it seems that life is only one stumbling block after the other. And I do not know why god allows bad things to happen to good people! But I do know that the gospel can give us strength, happiness, and hope through our trials. Love you all, miss you all! Dont forget to pray, and don’t forget to smile this week!

Hermana Marcheschi

Leave a Reply

