Out in the City

Okay, well, I have like NO time to write this, and I’m sorry for all those whose emails I didn’t get to this week!! Hahah, I swear the hour goes by crazy fast and we all get frantic to try and get our emails read and sent. Letters are AMAZING because I can actually read them and take time to reply!
To the Market

To the Market

But anyways, this week seems like a month long and at the same I time I feel like I don’t even remember anything we did. Last week, we got to go to a little underground market in the city and Wendy’s afterwards! K, first of all frosty’s are like 12,323,523,487 times better in Guatemala. No one knows why. Second of all, the market was sooo cool. But you do feel pretty stupid walking around the market when the only Spanish words you can remember are “HOLA,” “COMO ESTA” and “GRACIAS.” Hahaha, it’s okay, I’ll learn. Some day. Spanish has been hard this week! There is so so much to learn. I feel like I can talk about the gospel pretty well, and my accent is coming along (all of my Nacho Libre impressions had a purpose). But I can’t understand like any of the Latinos that are here and my probably most-used phrase is “LO SIENTO, OTRA VEZ, MAS DISPACIO POR FAVOR.” Hahaha, but I will get it someday!

The Market

The Market

We had an amazing rain storm this week that came and went in like 20 minutes! But it just POURS. It’s beautiful. I’m not sure if I mentioned it last week, but there is a gym right behind the CCM that blasts music through its open windows “all day eery day” (great and spacious building anyone?) and we DIE because, I swear, it’s like Satan knows all of our favorite songs. (Sidenote: why did I just capitalize satan? def does not deserve to have his name capitalized. satan.) The other day we were studying outside and the music forced us inside. I cry. Everytime. Guys, its rough. Okay a few more random things: I eat papaya here at every meal and everyone thinks I’m crazy. PAPAYA IS FROM HEAVEN EVERYBODY.
The food has started to affect us all. One of the sisters in another norte district has started singing her favorite line from “Defying Gravity” after every meal.. “Something has chaaanged within me… Something is not the same… I’m sick of playing by the rules of Guatemala’s gaaaameee.” It’s hilarrrriousss, I love that Hermana Crouch. Last thing–4 square is so much better than I remember from elementary school… !!!! Like en serio, we have 4 square championships every day at deportes. It’s the bomb guys. (Also my whole district makes fun of the way I talk. And we always make Star Wars and LOTR references.)
K, enough with silly things, now that I have like three minutes left (oops). Was General Conference not INCREDIBLE?! That was truly the highlight of my whole experience here. There is nothing better than being so spiritually filled. I love the leaders of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints here on the Earth. And I seriously loved every single one of their talks, haha, so go read them all if you haven’t yet, or if you missed any!! I will write a letter home explaining my favorite parts in more detail because I have no time, but one of my favorite talks was probably Elder Bednar’s about the loads we carry in our life. They seem unfair, but it is our loads that allow us to become more like Christ. He carried the greatest load of all–how can we expect to become at all like him if we do not have to carry or endure anything in our life?
Love you all!!
Hermana Marcheschi
At the Market

At the Market

With Hermana Bullough

With Hermana Bullough

The Districts who arrived March 19 - At the Guatemala City Temple

The Districts who arrived March 19 – At the Guatemala City Temple

The District who arrived March 5

The District who arrived March 5

Her North American District

Her North American District

Ch- elders district

About half the MTC group

About half the MTC group

MTC Hermanas

MTC Hermanas

Presidente & Hermana Cox

Presidente & Hermana Cox

Leave a Reply

