“When you are helping others, God is helping you.”

Tuesday, April 29, 2014 at 3:09 p.m.

HI GUYS!

Wow. This week has been a rollercoaster. Lots of downs but an equal or greater number of ups. 🙂 Wow, okay, what first though. Ummm, TODAY WE WENT TO TACO BELL. Totally not mad about that. Taco Bell is hoppin’ down here, guys. While we were inside, a soccer game was on and someone even scored while we were ordering our food (don’t worry I wasn’t watching–I only know because all of a sudden I went deaf and there were Guatemalan men running everywhere). But it is always sooo fun to get outside and see the people. It makes me more excited to get out into the field tomorrow!

Def’ gonna miss the food here though… We are seriously sooo spoiled! We get ice cream every day and pastries with every meal and mango and tangerine and lime juice and ugh. On Sunday nights the nortes always go up to Presidente and Sister Cox’s apartment for a devotional and dessert and we had oreo brownies and oreo truffles and GUYS I’M GETTING SO FAT. Just kidding, I feel like half the time I’m a balloon and other times I feel like I’m losing weight… No one knows. Buuuut the food definitely does different things to your stomach here. Everyone (and I mean all of the Nortes) has stomach problems, hahaha. Nothing major. But we’ve started um skipping the beans when they’re served. Anywho, sorry guys.

LAST NIGHT WE GOT A CHOCOLATE FOUNTAIN holla. They have them every two weeks the night before the missionaries leave. We are lucky that we even get to email this week! We’re leaving for the field tomorrow (a day late) due to a mission tour in Quetzaltenango right now. But three of the sisters we came in a group with left this morning–Sister Crouch, Sister Flewallen, and Sister McKee–and we all baawwwled last night singing “God Be With You Till We Meet Again.” Sad but happy times, ya feel me? I’ll probably be a mess tomorrow morning when we leave the CCM. Presidente Cox and Sister Cox have seriously become like PARENTS to us. Presidente Cox even comes out to play basketball games with the Elders every day for deportes. They’re some of the most amazing people I’ve ever had the opportunity to meet and learn from and I’m so grateful for my time here!

Speaking of amazing people… I am going to MISS my teachers soooo much. They are such obedient and righteous servants of Jesus Christ. Hermano Escobar, our night teacher, has had a greater impact on me than honestly anyonein the CCM. His obedience and example in ALL he does inspires and encourages me. Sometime last week my companion was sick and Hno Escobar met with each companionship in the class for “coaching study” and I know he could tell I was feeling pretty discouraged and down–just feeling like there’s no way I could EVER be as great of a missionary as I want to be. And I told him how I regret not knowing my scriptures better! –having references and stories memorized, so I can find exactly what I want to share in a few seconds, and also my feelings about not being able to live up to my potential. He was so sweet–He told me he was NEVER good at having references or scriptures memorized (and he was an INCREDIBLE missionary) and he looked me in the eyes a little teary and said “I know … that when you are helping others, God is helping you.” We both ended up a little teary after our conversation. Teachers are so inspired. Everything in this work is so inspired. 🙂 (PS Hermano Escobar is from Quetzaltenango and gave our district 32 referrals already WHAT WHAAAT.)

I was reading in Moses this week during a devotional on the Doctrine of Christ and I was really struck by a particular verse–Moses 7:32. I think that the Lord wept over the people who went with Satan, but also probably over all of the people he knew would choose Satan on Earth. When Enoch asks how it is He can weep, the Lord first answers “Behold, these are thy brethren.” And then “they are the workmanship of mine own hands, and I gave unto them their knowledge, in the day I created them; and in the Garden of Eden, gave I unto man his agency.” I have such a great calling to help my brethren. It is so hard, but it is such a blessing to be a part of this work that has been a part of the Plan from the very beginning. Also–I bet that sometimes it pains our Heavenly Father and our Savior to know that we have the power to drift away from them because they gave us agency. But I know that we could NEVER experience the great and ETERNAL joy that comes from following and coming to truly KNOW our Savior, Jesus Christ, if we did not have our agency. It is a gift–use it well and we can know the great joy that our Father in Heaven is just WAITING to give us.

I am so grateful for the Atonement of Jesus Christ. I am grateful for the trials we have to experience so that we can better understand the Atonement and the joy that is set before us. I am grateful for a living prophet! I love Joseph Smith. And I know that He saw with his very eyes our Father and our Savior. I know with all of my heart that we can come closer to God by reading the Book of Mormon than by reading ANY other book! It is the greatest book out there. 🙂 I love you all! I feel so blessed to have such amazing people in my life. Next time I email I will be out in the field! Send prayers that my companion and I will find those who are prepared for this Gospel! I love it and my Savior with all my heart!!!

Xoxo,
Hermana Marcheschi

Leave a Reply

