Sacrificing our own will…

A utz a wach?!

Hiii all!

I don’t have much time, but this week has been great. We’ve had lots of experiences, good and better and some not so good but ALWAYS an adventure and the mission is the best. Seriously. On Wednesday, we went to Quicasiguan, a part of our area you can only get to by a path through and up the mountain. THE PATH IS BEAUTIFUL, and so is the view once we’re up in the canyon. I’ll send a picture. 🙂 We went to find an investigator we had contacted in the center of town in the market. She told us her house was the last house on the pathway up the mountain…………… We asked everyone on our way up but nobody knew her, hahah, so we just kept looking. We finally found somebody who knew a Maria but she didn’t have the same last name as the Maria we were looking for…, We went for it anyways. Literally at the LAST HOUSE up the mountain, after climbing non stop for an hour and a half on the path with one of the members who wouldn’t let us stop to take a break even though Hna. Palomino and I were both a little sick, we walked to the side and yelled AAAUUU (not really sure what it means but pretty sure something similar to Hola). It wasn’t the house we were looking for, but the young woman who was there embroidering a native blouse let us share a message with her. She even called her husband (both super young) and her neighbor also came and stayed to listen. We taught about the Plan of Salvation and because they’re younger they understood almost all of our Spanish! The spirit that was there in that lesson was stronger than I think I have ever felt while teaching a first lesson here in Nahualá. They invited us back this next week. To be honest while we were climbing the mountain I started to want to just turn around and go back, haha. HNA. MARCHESCHI, BE POSITIVE, I KNOW. But I KNOW that the Lord blessed us with those new investigators, who really wanted to listen and were more willing than many of the people here to make commitments to study the pamphlets and pray, because we sacrificed our own comfort and were willing to do HIS will and not our own. It is the same in every aspect of our lives. When we are willing to sacrifice our own will to do the Savior’s, he WILL bless us. That is not a theory; it is a promise.

Personal study every morning seriously SAVES me. I don’t know how I lived so many years of my life without diligent DAILY study. I never want to live a day of my life without first consulting the scriptures and the words of the prophet. I also don’t know what I would do or who I would be right now without prayer. I read or heard somewhere that morning and nightly prayers are our own personal interviews with our Heavenly Father, and that we don’t have to wait until we are in the temple to know how He feels about who we are and what we are doing here on the Earth. I can imagine that in part it makes Him sad that He has to allow us, His children, to make so many mistakes that hurt us, but I know that He also rejoices over all of the good that we do here and all of the happiness we can have from doing good. I am so grateful for this wonderful, amazing, incredible gospel, for the scriptures, for the prophets and their words of guidance, and for my Savior, Jesus Christ, and His atoning sacrifice for me. I read this morning in the talk ¨The Savior Wants to Forgive¨ by Elder Craig A. Cardon a quote that I love. He said, ¨After we do all we can do, His compassion and grace are the means whereby ´in process of time´ we overcome the world through the enabling power of the Atonement. As we humbly seek this precious gift, ´weak things become strong unto [us],´ and by HIS strength we are made able to do that which we could never do alone.¨ The Lord said in an early General Conference to the Saints, ¨For verily some of you are guilty before me, but I will be merciful unto your weakness.¨ ¨Our Heavenly Father knows what we are facing, that we ALL sin and ´come short of the glory of God.´ (Romans 3:23)¨ Some great scriptures that accompany this idea are D&C 62:1, Luke 22:31-32, D&C 61:39, Alma 34:18, and D&C 101:9. We should not feel discouraged if we find ourselves utterly imperfect. Our Heavenly Father understands and knows that we often fall short of our own goals and expectations. And He loves us. More than we can understand with our imperfect minds. As we seek the help of our Savior to become better and to overcome temptation and weaknesses, I know that He will help us turn our weaknesses into strengths. We don’t have to do it alone! He is always there. I also love a scripture I found this week in Romans 8:28: ¨And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God.¨ For those of you who have lost faith in yourself and in your Savior, ¨A shepherd hath called after you and is still calling after you.¨ (Alma 5:37) I know that this gospel is true. I know that my Savior loves me and loves each one of the children of God living here in Nahualá, Guatemala. I feel so honored to wear His name every day as His representative.

I love you all so much! I hope you are all well. Be good and be safe and be happy! (If you are good you will be happy. ;))

All my love,
Hermana Marcheschi

Leave a Reply

