There is SOMEBODY who UNDERSTANDS

Buenas taaaardes!

This week was so great! My new companion, Hermana Corea, is from Honduras and is the sweetest, kindest spirit I have ever met! We have been working hard to know the area better and even explore areas I’ve never seen. We´ve found a few positive families and are excited to work more with them!

We had a great experience with some less actives this week. There is a family of four sisters who have no father and whose mother left them to marry another man. Three of them are married and two of the married couples live in a house with their younger sister of 16. The husbands of the two oldest sisters drink and one of them was gone from the house for 15 days drinking. After many attempts to find them in their house and plan a visit, we finally found one of the sisters and had a great lesson about the Savior and His Atonement with her, her husband, and the husband of the oldest sister. We discussed how the Savior not only suffered our pains, but our TEMPTATIONS. He knows how we feel when we are tempted. When everyone tries to help us make better decisions and we justify our actions by thinking that they can’t help because they don’t understand what it’s like to have our same temptations (in their case, wanting to drink), there is SOMEBODY who UNDERSTANDS. He understands perfectly because he suffered our temptations. He knows how we feel when we repeat the same mistakes over and over and believe there is no hope in changing. We don´t need to feel alone. Our Savior, Jesus Christ, is the destination, the way, the means, and the reason. I love my Savior so much! And one of the couples came on Sunday together!! When the wife has come, it has just been her. But the husband came as well and I was so proud of their courage and faith! 🙂

I just wanted to brighten your day and let you all know that I WAS PART OF A PARADE THIS WEEK!! Only I didn’t want to participate and the part I played was a highly dramatic tumble over (and on top of) a gigantic rock in the middle of the road. I actually feel worse for the rock that had to support my weight. The bad news is that the entire ward knew about it in less than two days. The good news, I made people laugh! And I think I’m making a name for myself here in Nahualá.

We are trying to hasten the work here, teach more, love more, find more, be more creative with our way of working! If we want different results than the missionaries in this area have always had, we need to do it differently!! I feel so incredibly imperfect, especially this week having to know the whole area and guide the work a little more because my companion is new in the area, but I feel that I am growing little by little by LITTLE in all of the situations in which I feel uncomfortable. Haha, I feel so new still sometimes but I feel very blessed. I am so grateful for all I have learned and how much my testimony has been strengthened. I feel like the mission helps us to find the tools to have and accomplish all that we have ever wanted! Okay, scratch that. The mission helps us to become more the person worthy to receive all the Lord has ever wanted for us. Sometimes the growing pains hurt a little but when we take it day by day, decision by decision, in time we realize the progress we have made and the blessings we have received!

I love you all so so much! Trust in the scriptures and trust in PRAYER and trust in our Heavenly Father. A recent convert told me she had made a mistake this week and couldn’t pray to end our lesson because she was being punished. NEVER believe the lie that Satan pushes into our minds, that we are not worthy to pray or that our Heavenly Father does not want to hear us. We cannot fall far enough to be unworthy to pray. Pray often, pray ALWAYS. Our Heavenly Father is just waiting to hear our voices! 🙂

Be good, be happy!!!

All my love,

Hermana Marcheschi

Leave a Reply

