The Lord Strengthens Us

OKAY so I have this new goal about being better at writing emails ‘cause I always feel a li’l guilty when p-day ends for not letting you know about the amazing experiences we have here. THIS IS MY INTENT NUMBA. 1. This week has been so so so so incredible. I do not know how I was lucky/blessed (Pres. Smith said it’s never luck, it’s inspiration but I feel really lucky) to have Hermana Rodríguez as my companion. She just finished her training and is now showing me all of my new área, SAN JUAN. 🙂 We have a little ramita here, about 40-50 people attend church every Sunday. There are two really active families who come every Sunday, a handful of PILAS Young adults who are recent converts, and families that come once every 3 or so weeks. Our work here includes a lot of working with those families who are not yet less active, but on the verge . . . who really need the spirit in their homes and help strengthening their faith so they can become dedicated saints. My companion and I are SO excited about this time we have to work together, and it is like a breath of fresh air to really feel on the same page. We have been so blessed in this week to feel the spirit testify to our less actives and investigators and also been led by the Lord to where HE needs us. San Juan is very very different from my first two áreas! Haha but I love it, all the same. 🙂 San Juan itself is more or less city. I think it’s a suburb or something of Xela. ALL OF THE STREETS LOOK THE SAME AND I AM ALWAYS LOST. But Little by Little right? (K ps i have no idea why it keeps capitalizing Little so just go with it). San Juan is then surrounded by aldeas, towns in the mountains. Our área is enormous. I’m serious. There are aldeas that Hna. Rodríguez said she has never even been to. IT’S FREEZING HERE AT NIGHT. Okay relatively freezing. It’s about the same as Nahuala but we keep hearing from everyone that it’s even colder in December and January and that it actually gets below freezing. (I think that’s a really big deal in Guatemala and I don’t know how I’m gonna handle REAL cold when I’m back in Utah). I’m super excited about the work here. It’s very different than in my last áreas and we are working a lot with rescuing and retaining members. I already LOVE these people and feel so so blessed to know the ones I have met. P.S. Hermana Bollough and Hermana Palomino are both in my zone! And the other sisters here are absolutely amazing. We share an área with the zone leaders and are happy to have 4 missionaries working with the ward because this área needs A LOT of strengthening! We have seen miracles every day here. We are striving to search for and do the Lord´s will in every moment and I am so grateful for how He has been leading and strengthening and inspiring us. One of my greatest insecurities when I started my mission was my lack of scriptural knowledge. I couldn’t remember scripture references to SAVE MY LIFE and I felt so inadequately prepared to teach what an investigator needed in the exact moment in which they needed it. But I know that the Lord strengthens us so that we can be effective tools in His work. I feel so humbled and grateful to have been gaining a stronger testimony of the power of the spirit–it WILL bring to our minds exactly what we need/need to say in the moment in which we need it. I have been studying the last 15 chapters of Alma this week, and am so grateful for the examples of faith and righteousness and loyalty to the Lord that He has given us in the scriptures. I admire so much the youth who fought valiantly with Helaman, and their mothers who taught them to trust in the Lord. I could talk for hours about what I loved in these chapters but I invite you all to just STUDY the scriptures and treasure up every word! It is something that feeds a hunger we often times didn’t realize we had. I promise to bring my journal and relate more specific experiences next week, but know that I am safe and healthy and so happy here in San Juan and that my companion is an angel! I know this gospel is true and I know that Jesús Christ has restored His church and the fulness of His gospel and power here on the Earth once again. I love you all and I wish you all so so much happiness and so many blessing! 🙂 All my love, Hermana Marcheschi

a few weeks ago in Toto after hiking to the vine! a daughter of a member family insisted that one of her old cortes was now mine. I said no no no until I realized that it was better to accept her gift of love than reject what she had so selflessly offered me! I love love love the people here, if I havent already said it before :)

a few weeks ago in Toto after hiking to the vine! a daughter of a member family insisted that one of her old cortes was now mine. I said no no no until I realized that it was better to accept her gift of love than reject what she had so selflessly offered me! I love love love the people here, if I havent already said it before 🙂

Typical day in Nahuala.  Drenched in less than a minute haha!

Typical day in Nahuala. Drenched in less than a minute haha!

FHE - My last night in Nahuala!

FHE – My last night in Nahuala!

Leave a Reply

