The love of God is manifest in His gift of a Savior to us

OKAY I feel like I have so much I want to express, but with so little time to do it (as always hehe).

This week was great!! We had an AMAZING zone conference on Tuesday. We are really really changing things up here in the mission. Everything is changing and improving; everything is 10x more spiritual, including US. Presidente is seriously the best. I am very grateful to be serving under such an inspired and humble and obedient servant of God.

On Monday, we got a surprise call from Brayan, who we had left, then visited again and challenged to be baptized again, telling us he had prayed and wanted to be baptized ON FRIDAY, since all of his family was in town. We visited with him every day and made the prayerful decision that his desire to be baptized was sincere and that he was prepared for that date and that it was the will of the Lord. On Friday he was baptized and the spirit was SO sweet and SO strong while he was standing there in the water. I CAN’T BELIEVE I GET TO BE A PART OF THE LORD’S WORK. I feel so humbled, en serio. On Sunday he was confirmed and gave the sweetest most sincere testimony of the Book of Mormon and ¨Joseph Smitch¨ and told the whole ward he would always be there to serve them and bear his testimony. Fredy also bore his testimony and spoke of how we need to DO the things we read and learn from the Book of Mormon, not just read them. Testimony meeting on Sunday was so so spiritual, and the sacrament was so beautiful and I felt my testimony grow SO MUCH of the fast that day. That morning, Hna. Madrid had left a present and a card on my desk for my birthday and I received messages from all the zone throughout the morning and I learned SO MUCH in personal study and sacrament meeting was incredible and I just felt so happy and loved and I felt SO close to my Savior. For that, it was the best birthday I have ever had. On Saturday, we spent some time making a plan for our area, for these next few months, setting goals and forming a vision and planning how to achieve it and IT’S SO EXCITING. I feel that we are capable of doing everything President Duncan taught us to do and I KNOW that the Lord is hastening His work. We feel it and it’s exciting.

As a mission, we are reading the Book of Mormon in 3 months — which means 7-8 pages per day. I am loving reading the story of Lehi and his family again. I am so amazed by their obedience and willingness to leave the world behind and begin a whole new life. How closely does this describe so many of us? The Lord asks us all to do the same, leave behind the world and change ourselves to want only what He wants. 1 Ne 5:21, we will only come to understand the importance and value of the scripures by searching them. 1 Ne 6:5, those of the world cannot appreciate what is written in the scriptures, we will love and want to follow the commandments when we are not of the world. 🙂 1 Ne 7:22, I LOVE how quickly and effortlessly Nefi forgives Laman and Lemuel. We should be so quick to forgive, even the most hurtful offenses. 1 Ne 8-11 is incredible. I have been studying a lot about the visions of Lehi and Nefi and I am so deeply impressed by the group of people who came to the tree and fell down and partook of the fruit. I imagine them tired, grateful, humbled, joyful, tearful, etc. I was thinking about the connection of this group with Nefi´s vision, when He sees the birth of the Savior. The angel shows Him the Savior´s birth, and immediately after asks him if he understands the meaning of the tree of life.

“21 And the angel said unto me: Behold the Lamb of God, yea, even the Son of the Eternal Father! Knowest thou the meaning of the tree which thy father saw?

“22 And I answered him, saying: Yea, it is the love of God, which sheddeth itself abroad in the hearts of the children of men; wherefore, it is the most desirable above all things.

“23 And he spake unto me, saying: Yea, and the most joyous to the soul.”

Tree of life = love of God, love of God is manifest in His gift of a Savior to us, His children. I imagine the day when I am ready to return, similar to the group of people who fell on their knees at the tree. I can’t wait for the day when I can fall at my Savior’s feet, tired, grateful, humbled, joyful, tearful, and feel that love of God even more plentifully. But in the mean time, I am SO grateful to be HERE, and I feel so blessed to be able to help others here find the path, find the iron rod, make their way to the tree, and feel the love of our Father. The mission is THE BEST.

Thank you for all of your support and all of your love. I feel indebted to you all for your examples to me! Be good and be happy!

Hermana Marcheschi

Leave a Reply

