The Good Shepherd is always calling us – let us continually humble ourselves, go to Him, repent of our sins, and buy honey and milk without money and without price

HEY family and friends and everyone!!!

I always get nervous to write emails home because I have NO IDEA how to communicate to you all everything we´ve experienced and learned during the week. To be honest there is no way I could ever do it and for that reason I’ll just tell a couple experiences that impacted me a lot. 🙂

On Wednesday our zone had interviews with Presidente! And a meeting together afterwards. He helped me with some ways to contact even more effectively and I expressed my excitement and the vision I am catching of all of the work. I am very grateful for His leadership and instruction! Tomorrow we have a leaders meeting in Xela and I am sure there will be a lot more amazing things to tell next Monday! 🙂

We have been doing a plan President has been inspired to do with all of the member families to help get them more involved in the work with a few member families during this week and I even got to do it in divisiones with Hermana Nield (I LOVE HER) with their bishop in the area Prado! We shared a message first and I love a comment he made, that it’s not enough to just be ¨good people.¨ We came here to perfect ourselves through the Atonement of Jesus Christ. There are SO MANY families and people who might have that desire but not the knowledge to accomplish it.

We are teaching a great young couple! Elisa y Nery. This week we went to visit them for the second time and Elisa had read the chapter we had left her in the Book of Mormon! We asked Nery if he had read and he told us he was scared to confuse himself by reading something besides the Bible. We had an amazing discussion (lesson) as we retaught the apostasy and the Restoration and everything in a much more personal and clear way for them. It was AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING and by the end they were just smiling, they accepted the invitation to be baptized and when we asked them if they would read the next chapter we had assigned for them in the Book of Mormon, Nery nodded his head smiling and said YES!! What’s been hard is helping get them to church. But they will come!! We are working hard with them. 🙂

On Thursday we continued the process of packing up Hermana Gloria´s old clothes. We were dying dying laughing and made many more spider and cockroach friends. We also cleaned her floor which was covered in moldy paper and books (that were HARD TO UNSTICK FROM THE FLOOR.) We had a blast. I love Gloria. She might not hear very well, she might be losing her senses a little bit, but she loves her Savior and I feel His love for her despite her weaknesses whenever we are with her!!! Serving is the best, especially when you get to serve the sweet people of Guatemala and with a companion as amazing as Hermana Madrid. 🙂

We had a great Sunday! With this later schedule and studies we get out a little late, but I LOVE Sundays!! Especially the first Sunday of the month. 🙂 AND FREDY GOT HIS TEMPLE RECOMMEND AND SPENT ALL OF SUNDAY AFTERNOON LOOKING AT THE WORLD TEMPLES. He is so ecstatic and we are so so excited and happy for him. He will go this Saturday with the ward for the first time. 🙂

We´ve been reading the Book of Mormon at a pretty fast rate as a mission (8 pages a day) and I’ve been learning so much by being able to read lots of material over a short time period! I am seeing so so many patterns in the BOM and the gospel and learning many principles more clearly. 🙂 I love that Abinadi teaches King Noah and his priests that salvation comes through THE SAVIOR. They were tripping because they could not understand the role of the Savior in the plan of salvation. I love that the Lord turns the vilest of sinners (Mosiah 28:4) into instruments in His hands to brings others to repentance and salvation, that He frees those who humble themselves before Him. I love that the Lord gives the pueblo of Alma even more instruction and protection when they THANK Him immediately for what He had done for them (Mosiah 24:21-23). I love that the Lord will not and CANNOT steal sheep nor nurture sheep from somebody else´s flock. He nurtures His flock and invites us all to come unto His and be called by His name. We must KNOW by which name we are called, which we can only do by serving Him (Mosiah 26:21, 5:13-15). I know that, like it says in Mosiah 23:21 that even when we are doing everything RIGHT, the Lord tries our patience and faith because He loves us and wants us to grow!!! The Good Shepard is always calling us. Let us continually humble ourselves, go to Him, repent of our sins, and buy honey and milk without money and without price. I love this gospel with all of my heart. Yesterday in church I opened the Liahona and saw a picture of the Xela temple and three families who had been baptized and sealed in the temple after visiting the open house and just began to cry. I feel so grateful and blessed. This gospel changes lives! But more importantly, as I have been understanding more and more every day, it changes US. I love my Savior and I know that His church has been restored. How beautiful is the knowledge we have to share with the world!

Thank you for all of your prayers and love. 🙂 I pray for you all daily!

All my love,

Hermana Marcheschi

Leave a Reply

