We would to God that we could persuade all to believe in Christ

Hi everyone!

This week was a huge rollercoaster for us and for me especially. We are trying to perfect our ability to have faith in and rely on the Lord. Our week was just PACKED with learning opportunities.

First, on Tuesday, we had a leaders’ council with President and the assistants. It was really really good. I went with a few specific questions I really needed answered and every single thing that was talked about was an answer to my question. One of the biggest changes we have been implementing in our daily work is the WAY we plan at night and study for our investigators separately and together in the morning, and receiving specific revelation for them. President taught us the process of receiving revelation (and more and more) and working through the spirit and I feel so much better equipped to teach my investigators.

We planned a great lesson for one of our progressing investigators, Cecy Herrera, who has been to church a lot in the past but has never accepted a baptismal date. We went to the lesson with the YW president and throughout the lesson, the spirit was very strong. At the end, Hna. Lopez was prompted to tell Cecy about how we found her. (We were at the house of the YW president and the RS president (the YW president’s mom) and after we prayed together about a list of names they had given us, we were all prompted to circle Cecy´s name. The Lord literally sent us to her.) Cecy began to cry and we were all crying and we asked her if she knew the Book of Mormon was true. She said yes. We asked if she knew that the church was true. Again, yes. She told us she knew Joseph Smith was a prophet. We asked her if she felt the need to be baptized by somebody with the authority of God. She looked at us all and said yes. We put a date and agreed to fast with her until her family will support her fully. It was one of the most beautiful lessons and we were SO grateful for the spirit that worked in Cecy.

Sunday was also really special for us. I especially was praying to be filled with peace that day. During our study, the spirit helped us plan a new way to share the video “Because He Lives.” We planned it all out and when we were out working, ALL of our citas fell except for the last one. Even though I feel like I have contacted every house in our area, we began contacting. I felt SO peaceful and was given the ability to share our message SO clearly. I truly felt lifted and I was so grateful. We were contacting on a street I hadn’t visited in a while when a woman opened her gate to us. We began talking and she told us her mother was a member when she was very young, but they stopped going to church when she was 6 or 7. She let us in and we shared “Because He Lives” exactly how we had felt prompted to plan it in the morning (with a few li’l twists from the spirit) and I HAVE NEVER FELT THE SPIRIT MORE STRONGLY IN MY WHOLE MISSION. We testified of the Savior and then of HOW we have gained that testimony of Him–from the Book of Mormon. I don’t even remember exactly what we said, but they were not our words. She told us to come back on Friday so we could share it with her husband as well. We walked out of that lesson feeling SO blessed! I am so grateful for the way in which the Lord guides this work and allows us to find people who are prepared to hear His voice.

One of the biggest personal discoveries I have been making in this last week is the reality of the power of the Book of Mormon. It was written to testify not of Joseph Smith (although it is a convincing fruit of the restoration) but of JESUS CHRIST. I mean, obviously, hahah, but this week my mind has been opened even further to understand how to use the Book of Mormon more powerfully in our teaching. I am SO GRATEFUL for the way in which the Lord is opening my understanding! And ability as a missionary! One of my favorite verses from this week’s study is found in Jacob 1.

And if there were preaching which was sacred, or revelation which was great, or prophesying, that I should engraven the heads of them upon these plates, and touch upon them as much as it were possible, for Christ’s sake, and for the sake of our people.

For because of faith and great anxiety, it truly had been made manifest unto us concerning our people, what things should happen unto them.

And we also had many revelations, and the spirit of much prophecy; wherefore, we knew of Christ and his kingdom, which should come.

Wherefore we labored diligently among our people, that we might persuade them to come unto Christ, and partake of the goodness of God, that they might enter into his rest, lest by any means he should swear in his wrath they should not enter in, as in the provocation in the days of temptation while the children of Israel were in the wilderness.

Wherefore, we would to God that we could persuade all men not to rebel against God, to provoke him to anger, but that all men would believe in Christ, and view his death, and suffer his cross and bear the shame of the world; wherefore, I, Jacob, take it upon me to fulfill the commandment of my brother Nephi.

These prophets had SO much faith in and love for Jesus Christ and for US. I am so so so so eternally and immeasurably grateful for the scriptures! For old and modern prophets! For Jesus Christ! He lifts me in every way! I would be nothing without Him. I love you all! I hope you are studying the Book of Mormon every day! If you aren’t, I invite you to start. 🙂 It’s the best.

All my love,

Hermana Christine (who is that?) Marcheschi

Hermana Gibson!

Hermana Gibson!

At "Pomodoro" with the zone in between General Conference sessions

At “Pomodoro” with the zone in between General Conference sessions

Guatemalan smile.

Guatemalan smile.

My fish.  My friend.

My fish. My friend.

All of the sisters in Huehue after a multi-zona conference with President a few weeks ago

All of the sisters in Huehue after a multi-zona conference with President a few weeks ago

Juanita cooking Semana Santa bread. The rico-est of all ricos.

Juanita cooking Semana Santa bread. The rico-est of all ricos.

Saturday processions last week

Saturday processions last week

Leave a comment