I love this gospel. It is perfect and eternal.

Well hi everybody!

This week was incredible. I’ve been making a mistake for my entire mission–waiting for miracles to happen instead of searching for miracles and expecting them. My change of perspective has completely changed my mission.

Our week has been full of RAIN and great, expected and unexpected opportunities to find, teach, and testify. On Tuesday, we went back to teach a street contact named Maria Elena. We taught the Restoration, and after teaching about the Great Apostasy, she asked, “so then who is the prophet today?! If there is a true church there has to a be a prophet of God here on the earth!” After recovering from the shock and joy her question caused us, we taught and testified of the Restoration of the Gospel of Jesus Christ through the prophet Joseph Smith and the Book of Mormon. She loved it. We invited her to be baptized on the 20th of June and she accepted. We explained how she can ask our Heavenly Father literal questions and He will answer her and we knelt to close with a prayer. I want to share that EVERY TIME I have witnessed an investigator ASK Heavenly Father if the church is true, if Joseph was a prophet, and if the Book of Mormon is true and then WAIT in silence for an answer before continuing the prayer, he or she has received a witness of the Holy Ghost. It is incredible. I KNOW that our Heavenly Father listens to us and ANSWERS our prayers, however trivial! Maria Elena expressed her gratitude for her answer and knowledge of the truthfulness of the restored gospel and the Book of Mormon in her prayer and described to us her overwhelming feelings. When we returned a few days later to teach her, she had asked her daughter to help her take notes on the Introduction of the Book of Mormon that we had left her, not being able to write very much herself. We taught her daughter that night as well as we shared the message of the Plan of Salvation. They are super excited and we will be working closely with them this week. 🙂

On Saturday night, our lesson plans all fell and we had the opportunity to visit a less active sister and her mother, who we had heard was very sick from several members. We could NOT find the house, but were led there through a sequence of events and were able to spend a few special moments with her, and her sister and brother-in-law. We sang a few of her mother’s favorite hymns and shared a short message. I was deeply impacted as we sang “I Am a Child of God” and understood how beautiful and universal that phrase is! We offered our help and the sister asked us to return on Monday to help her. We were privileged to be a part of the beautiful experience we had today with them and a few more of the daughters of the mother. Today will be one of her last days. We sang some hymns and were blessed to sit in on her last blessing, given by her grandson. It was beautiful and moved me more than I can ever tell in email. This earthly life is so beautifully short. But there is MORE that follows it, and it is even more beautiful than all of the beautiful we experience here. I love this gospel. It is perfect and eternal.

One scripture that has touched me this week is DyC 58:26-29. This is what makes us lifelong disciples of Christ! Doing much good of our own will and being anxiously engaged in a GREAT cause. Also 2 Ne 32:9 and 33:4 and 6. Lastly verses 10 and 11 of chapter 33. The gospel is precious to me. The mission is my treasure. I love my Heavenly Father and His Son, Jesus Christ.

I love you all so much. Thank you for everything!

Hermana Christine Marcheschi

JESSIE y familia! My last day in Cerrito last week.

JESSIE y familia! My last day in Cerrito last week.

Shirly!!!! I would put crying faces on these all if I could

Shirly!!!! I would put crying faces on these all if I could

The Lopez Family :´(

The Lopez Family :´(

The Lucas family

The Lucas family

Our first night SOAKED in Jardines. Hermana Granados!

Our first night SOAKED in Jardines. Hermana Granados!

HERMANA BETTY!!

HERMANA BETTY!!

Leave a Reply

