I JOY in the message of the restoration of the gospel

Hi family!!

WELL, this week was just great. My new companion is Hermana Hernandez, from El Salvador. We feel SO BLESSED to be together! (Which means we won’t be together for long. Haha.) We are learning a lot together, and she is truly a friend who helps lift me.

Last night we taught Marino and his family about the law of chastity. I love something my companion said to his daughters–We are daughters of a GOD and therefore should act like princesses. Think about how an earthly princess acts–she always watches what she says, how she acts, the things she does. So then we, being celestial princesses, should watch those things even more. A good question to ask ourselves is “if the Savior were with me right now, would I be proud of what I am wearing/watching/thinking/listening to?” I always want to be able to answer YES to this question! I always want to be worthy to have the spirit with me. And of course this question applies to us ALL.

Hermana Hernandez and I have been visiting with our great members this week and are working on helping them recognize our good desires to work hard and be obedient, as this area does not have a great history in terms of missionary obedience. We have been receiving great references and contacting a LOT as well. It has become something so natural and it makes you so happy, being able to meet people in all places, listen to their stories and their feelings, and share small principles of the restored gospel and HOW they were restored. I JOY in the message of the Restoration! Speaking of the Restoration, we taught Andrea, a street contact, the Restoration in her home this week and everything just came together perfectly in the lesson. Heavenly Father blessed her with His spirit and such a clear understanding. She told us afterwards that what made her believe that the Mormon church was the true church on the Earth was that it all made sense, the authority, prophets, the true gospel, everything. And she told us she had learned a lot about Jesus Christ–the Restoration lesson made her meditate a lot and learn new things about the Atonement. I felt so happy when she said that!! Our true message is about Jesus Christ! If the gospel had not been restored, the world would not be able to fully understand the Atonement of Jesus Christ, nor his mission. I LOVE THE GOSPEL! AH!

Every day is so exciting. Finding unexpected opportunities to testify and meet families of potential investigators. One of our appointments fell the other night, and we started making our way towards our backup plan. We stopped suddenly in the middle of the street and went to contact a house that had called our attention. When no one answered, we both slowly turned and looked at the house directly behind us. We knocked and a young father came to the door. We began to converse with Him and testify of our message. He looked as us in surprise and told us he was living alone and had separated from his wife just a few months before. Then he looked at the ground and back at us and told us he wished to share something personal about his day: “This morning,” he said, “I woke up without a single desire to go to work. I just didn’t want to go! But I got up and said a quick prayer in my heart asking the Lord to help me get through the day. And do you know what? This was the best day I’ve had in my work. I sold more than I ever have before. I got home and said thank you to God in my head. I told him that I knew I needed to be nearer to Him and go to church. But I needed someone to help me begin and someone to help me stay firm!” He looked right at us and said, “I just didn’t think the answer to my prayer would come so quickly.” This time it was our turn to be surprised! I felt such a strong confirmation that God is in the details of our lives. When we pray for opportunities to share the gospel and then listen for the promptings of that still, small voice, God will allow us to find those whom He is preparing.

My mission is a precious treasure to me. We are working hard out here, always looking for ways to be better. Sometimes I still feel so imperfect and inadequate! But I am always, always strengthened. The sacrament is so sacred to me. I love the scriptures! I love my Heavenly Father and the son He sent to Earth for me and each one of us. I know that He has descended below all things in order to know how to succor and understand the children of His Father. I know that this is the true church of the Lord, Jesus Christ. I love my companion! I hope you all are reading your scriptures, conversing with our Heavenly Father each day, and rejoicing in the sacrament and every opportunity that God gives us to learn and be better. I love you all!!

Hermana Christine Marcheschi

Last picture with Hna Granados :(

Last picture with Hna Granados 😦

How the poor missionaries in the nice condominium cut their grass.

How the poor missionaries in the nice condominium cut their grass.

Zone activity last Monday! Football and Mexican tacos

Zone activity last Monday! Football and Mexican tacos

Hermana Granados!

Hermana Granados!

A few p-days ago!

A few p-days ago!

Denisha at her birthday party! We helped make her cake and led the party games. (Hna. Granados has a GIFT for that)

Denisha at her birthday party! We helped make her cake and led the party games. (Hna. Granados has a GIFT for that)

Our neighborhood

Our neighborhood

Leave a Reply

